The Press Republican – Article: Don’t needle Little about LPs

Don’t needle Little about LPs

By GORDIE LITTLE, Small Talk

Kenya minister speaks about ministry

A minister from Kenya was in Enid talking about his ministry.

By Robert Barron
CNHI News Service –>

What goes around comes around.

Long-playing records (LPs) spun around for many years. Then when compact discs (CDs) arrived, some so-called experts announced that record albums were quickly disappearing. That never happened.

While much recording has gone from analog to digital formats, there has been somewhat of a quiet revolution back toward analog. For me, LPs never went anywhere. I loved the first one I bought and played, and I’ve loved them ever since.

MEMORY LANE
In the 1960s, the late Ben Everest was known on local radio stations as “Never Rest Ben Everest.” He introduced himself by telling his audience that he was “reading the labels and spinning the tables.” That was a reference to the turntables in the radio studio. He played thousands of records during his long career. So did I.

Ben started a successful local record company called “Rondack Records.” I was proud to have played a small role in that endeavor. Our mutual friend Peter Guibord had his own record company called “Empire Records.” Both produced some fine records that have held up very well over almost five decades.

A few of those great local bands from a bygone era have had successful reunions and recorded some great tunes recently — on CDs, not records. Marc Mero has put together a book with 400 photos depicting musicians in this area. The title: “75 Years of Music.” It’s a trip down memory lane.

I find humor in the prediction that CDs, so revolutionary 20 years ago, will be replaced in a few years by downloads. Meanwhile, vinyl is coming back into favor, slowly but surely. For me, an LP is hypnotic as it spins at 33⅓ revolutions per minute (rpms). It’s like a nice piece of cheese on my apple pie. I play vinyl records here almost every day. It was my primary vocation for a long time.

LP HEAVEN
I began collecting LPs in the mid-1950s while in college. I would take an occasional trip into New York City to browse and buy rare jazz records at the huge Sam Goody store.

My personal collection grew after I began working on local radio in mid-1961. Over the years, friends died, leaving me their records, including many classical recordings that would today be almost priceless. I walked away from all of them when I exited the business in 1997.

A local dentist friend passed away after I had moved on from radio, and I recently learned from his heirs that his will included me as the recipient of his valuable music collection. I’ll be delighted to add his music to mine when it is delivered.

Others call me from time to time asking if I want LPs they no longer play. Of course, I say yes. Boxes and bags show up on my doorstep. Some are rare. All are treasures. My cup runneth over. Another friend invited me to his house, saying he had some records for me. Kaye and I showed up with my little hybrid car, anticipating an armful or so.

He took us into his basement and showed us the mother lode. Shelves and boxes and jam-packed cubbyholes were revealed. I was in audiophile heaven. We loaded that poor Prius to the max and the back end was so heavy, I could barely steer it on the way home.

VINYL REVIVED
A woman called recently and asked if we were interested in about 50 LPs, some of which had belonged to her Italian parents. Again, Kaye and I loaded them into the car and were later enraptured when the sound of Mario Lanza filled our River Room.

And so it goes. I still dream I’m playing records on the radio, in spite of the fact that I haven’t actually done that in almost 13 years. But I am thrilled to report that I can place them on my turntable here at any time. Kaye and I sing along and dance from one room to another in our Morrisonville home.

I’m delighted that some modern recording artists are deciding to release their music on vinyl once again. I’m happy that music companies are dusting off that old LP bandwagon and are hopping back on board. I’m especially pleased to see local stores selling both used and new long-playing records.

Do they sound more mellow and warm than a digital format? My old ears think so. Does Perry Como’s “Find a Wheel” still turn my crank as it spins around in my River Room? You betcha. You might want to get that old record player down from the attic.

Have a great day, enjoy your favorite music wherever you find it and please, drive carefully.

Gordie Little was for many years a well-known radio personality in the North Country and now hosts the “Our Little Corner” television program for Home Town Cable. Anyone with comments for him may send them to the newspaper or e-mail him at gordandk@aol.com.

Posted via web from The LP Revival Blog

~ by lprevival on February 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
