Early Neil Young albums re-released on vinyl | al.com #vinyl

Early Neil Young albums re-released on vinyl

By Greg Richter — Birmingham News

March 19, 2010, 3:00PM

neilyoung.jpgNeil Young’s first four albums, “Neil Young” (1969), “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere” (1969), “After the Gold Rush” (1970) and “Harvest” (1970), have been re-released in a limited pressing.

Warner Bros. is selling them as a limited-edition box set for $150. Only 3,000 will be sold worldwide, according to a Warner Bros. Records Web site, and they are pressed on 180 gram vinyl at Pallas FG/Germany, described by Warner Bros. as the world’s premier record pressing plant. (We assume 180 gram vinyl is the good stuff.) Each album and box are individually numbered in gold foil stamp.

Also available for the less costly $85: a gold limited-edition numbered CD box set of the four albums. Only 3,500 of those will be sold, Warner Bros. says.

“After the Gold Rush” includes the song “Southern Man,” and “Harvest” includes “Alabama.” Those two songs spurred Lynyrd Skynyrd to write the Southern Rock anthem “Sweet Home Alabama.”

Posted via web from The LP Revival Blog


~ by lprevival on March 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: